Editing a user
You may edit a user’s information by first clicking the “Users” link in the menu on the left side of any Gospel Software administration page, and then clicking on the name of the user whose information you wish to edit.
The user editing page contains basic information about the user, such as their username (they will use this to log in to Gospel Software), their full name, email address, phone numbers, and time zone. Additionally, there are checkboxes to select:
- Whether they are active — inactive users are not allowed to log in to Gospel Software, and typically have left your organization or no longer have responsibilities for any Gospel Software service; and
- Whether they are an organization admin — organization admins are allowed to create new users and to give any user access to any of the Gospel Software services you are using.
Below the user’s information are individual sections corresponding to each of the Gospel Software services that your organization is using. By selecting the checkbox for a given section, you are giving the user access to that Gospel Software service. The Gospel Software services each allow you to configure the following additional information for each user that is allowed to use the service:
For Directory users, you may select whether the user is an administrator for the Directory service. Directory administrators are allowed to give other users access to Directory.
For GuestView users, you may configure:
- Whether the user is an administrator for the GuestView service. GuestView administrators are allowed to give other users access to GuestView, and to configure the following additional information for any GuestView user:
- A title for this user. This title should describe the user’s role in guest follow-up; e.g., “Week 1 data entry,” “Caller,” “North End small group.” This title will appear in several places in the GuestView service and can help you select the right user who should be responsible for calling a guest.
- A group name for this user. GuestView allows you to group users into groups for convenience. For example, you might type the group name “Data entry” for your data entry team members, “Callers” for your users responsible for calling guests, and “Pastors” for your pastors. Within the GuestView service, when you see the list of users, all users with the same group name will be grouped together. Using group names effectively can help you to quickly scan the list of GuestView users to find the right user who should be responsible for calling a guest (since you know, for example, that “Data entry” users will never be calling guests).
For SongBook users, you may configure whether the user is:
- A SongBook administrator, who can give other users access to the SongBook, and can add or change any item in the SongBook.
- A SongBook editor, who is allowed to manage all SongBook songs and set lists.
- A Worship leader, who is allowed to manage set lists for particular worship locations (such as “Sunday morning” or “East Side small group”). You can optionally allow worship leaders to add and arrange songs, and edit the songs and arrangements they have added.
- A Normal user, who can only change their own view settings.
- A Read-only user, who cannot change anything within the SongBook.